Oye Lucky… Lucky Oye!!!!

It seems that now a days, God of luck is smiling on me. This good run started for me few days back when I got a post from Sengkang CC informing me that I have won the 50 S$ Cold Storage voucher in a National Day Lucky Draw. Well, it was kind of sweet shock for me. During the National Day Parade screening event, 1000s of people were there and out of that huge crowd just 50 persons were picked as winners and I was in those 50 lucky winners. Ahh… kinda unbelievable. I’m so lucky that till date I have not won even consolation prize in housie games.🙂 So considering that glorious past of mine winning a 50 S$ voucher was indeed nothing less than miracle for me. Anyways, I digested that sweet shock and collected my vouchers yesterday only.

But god of luck has something more also in store for me. Normally, I listen Masti 96.3FM (Hindi Radio Station in Singapore) which broadcasts between 5pm to 8 pm everyday. Since it’s inception, the station is getting better n better and now they have started giving 50 S$ cash if listeners give correct answer to all the three questions asked during it’s broadcast. Today for the first time I tried my luck and SMSed replies to all the three question asked during broadcast and in my first attempt itself I was lucky enough to win 50 S$ cash. OMG… still difficult to believe.

Following three questions were asked today to listeners :

1. Who are the actor and actress in the song “खुदा जाने के मैं फिदा हूं, खूदा जाने के मीट गया…." from the Movie “बचना ऐ हसीनो"?

Ohhh… tough one, isn’t it? neah… it was very easy. The answer every body knew Ranbir Kapoor and Deepika Padukone. I’m sure whole Singapore must have given correct reply to this. Those who gave incorrect reply to this question should be given punishment of watching movies like “Milenge Milenge” or “Raavan” for at least 10 times🙂

2. Second question was name the actress who debuted in music album and had good success in South Indian movies and some other clues. Ufff…. difficult to answer from only that much detail. After sometime RJ gave one conclusive hint i.e. this actress was also in the video of the Pankaj Udas’ gazal "अरे आहिस्ता…कीजे बाते…". Well, I knew this. Yippie….. The actress in that gazal is Sameera Reddy. So I confidently replied it.

3. The third n final one was bit tricky. Name the dress which Babus wear in India and it can also be termed for expedition through jungle and in Singapore this is done in Night. The first two clues were not so conclusive for me but the third clue got me the answer. In Singapore we can go for Night Safari. So SAFARI which is also a dress for men which is also a term used for expedition through Jungle was the right answer. Within moments RJ asked this question, I replied. I think perhaps this question was bit tricky for people to answer and many people might have stumbled at this question. After all not all are intelligent like me🙂 (One person even replied “Baniyan” as answer to this question. LOL.)

After giving correct answers for all the three questions, it was time for me to keep my fingers crossed and wait for the final result. I was bit confident because I knew that not many will be able to answer the third question. 

Finally, around 7:40 I got a call from RJ Mahek (who anchors the show) asking me what was the reply I gave for the third question and whether I have won anything from radio station in recent past. She then said, I may win 50S$ cash but didn’t confirm me as winner at that time. So some more anxious moments for me. It would have definitely be very disheartening to loose out after getting so near.

Finally, RJ called me again in ten minutes confirming me as winner and for a brief period she also put me on air. Yeah…I was on air before also for the same station but this time excitement was there as I was on air as winner. RJ asked me what I’m going to do with this prize money. The answer was pretty clear that I’m going to give this money to my wife. When RJ had first time called me at that time only I had promised Vibha that if I win this, I will give this money to her. (So I think she might have prayed hard to get this 50 S$ for her :)) But one more thing also I would like to mention here. RJ Mahek also gave me a chance to express my love for the wife and it was for whole Singapore to listen. I should thank RJ Mahek for that. Thanks Thanks Thanks a ton RJ Mahek for all this.

Well, on serious note prize money involved is not that great but what matters the most is the Euphoria behind this. All that excitement and the sense that sometimes I can also be lucky was more satisfying. After all such small small happiness is what makes life more livable. I listen to the Dubai based FM station City 101.6 regularly and in that they give away vouchers, prizes, movie tickets, etc. so freely I really feel jealous of those winning it. But now I can take the solace in the fact that I also got what best I could get from the local FM station.

So now it seems like, for a while luck is with me. Tomorrow morning first thing I should do is to visit Singapore pools shop and buy a TOTO/4D (Lottery) ticket for me. Who knows god of luck may smile on me once again. Amen!!

3 Responses

  1. ૫૦ ડોલર. કૃણાલભાઈ, ત્રણ કલાક દરરોજ રેડિઓ સાંભળતા પ્રમાણે ઓછા કહેવાય..😉

    • અરે કાર્તિકભાઇ,
      સિંગાપોર ગરીબોની વસ્તી છે. અહીં જે મળ્યું એ નફામાં જ છે.🙂

  2. I am in Singapore for 3 days and I enjoy reading what you are writing heading back on Thursday late night.

Leave a Reply

