Hi Dad!!

20th June was the “Father’s day”. So called special days doesn’t mean much to me n I tend to forget such days. But this time BlogAdda made this day a bit special by announcing the contest for bloggers on “Father’s day” and asked bloggers to write about their fathers.  In our society where mothers have always been given higher respect/status compared to fathers, I think it was a welcome step. (There shouldn’t be any dispute on the fact that mothers truly deserve kind of respect and status she gets but at least some credit should be reserved for fathers too.)
About the BlogAdda contest, I read few entries sent in by people for the contest and most of them were emotional n touching. I felt bit emotional while reading those contest posts and floodgates of memories became open for me.  Those writings dragged me into my past when my dad was around me. When I think about my dad one question that props up in my mind is whether I will ever be as good father as my dad for Ruhi(i.e. my daughter)? Answer is perhaps no (but I always try to match you dad.)

Death is eternal truth of life & man is mortal(though we don’t accept it) but it is person’s deeds and memories which make him/her immortal. Dad, I still have the fond memories of the love and care you had showered on us (i.e. me n my sisters) when we were kids. I remember how you were delaying your lunch till 4 in the afternoon so that you can take me home from school and I don’t have to commute in stuffy auto / school bus. I remember I was seeing you from the window and pleading you to come home early in the night so that I can spend more time with you. I remember, we used to do drama like we are in deep sleep when you come home and when you gently give us hug, we scream in joy and give you a tight hug. I remember you bought me around 100 INR (mind here that 100 INR was considered huge sum in early 80s.) short (Chaddi🙂 ) n it was kind of “neighbors’ envy, owners pride thing” in my friend circle at that time. I remember when I was ill, how much care you were taking of mine. I remember what a great fun we used to have while playing cricket in bedroom (yes, you read it right, actual cricket in bedroom). I remember every Sunday, you were taking us to Law garden (place in Ahmedabad) for different rides and especially to watch the show performed by Moneky. (You had also given some money to the Madari (the owner of the monkey) so that every Sunday he regularly performs for us.) I remember every Sunday you were cooking Lunch for us and serving us different different delicious dishes to eat (At one point of time I was really thinking like my father cooks better than my mom🙂 ). I still remember the delicious taste of the Kachoris you were making for us. Such memories have no end and They will never ever fade even. 
Dad, the most amazing thing about your character was your gentleness (n I’m not writing this because you were my dad but because you were indeed). In my lifetime, I have never seen you getting angry on anyone. You knew how to manage the relationships, how to manage family affairs, how to keep everyone happy, how to let go the things for the sack of family. You were a perfect son for your parents. Even today, when I visit grand maa she cries on my shoulder remembering you and seeing you in me. Though, you were not the eldest amongst your siblings, still you were very caring for your siblings. The way you treated the mom throughout was exemplary. You knew how to cool down mom when she got angry with anything. One more reason to love you was, you never forced any of us to study🙂. I need to learn a lot from your character but sad thing is you are not around to guide me today. 
Needless to say that dad I miss you. There were many important occasions in my life when I felt your absence n cried alone. I wish you were by my side when I finished my graduation. I wish you were there so that I give you my first pay cheque in your hands with pride. I wish you were there to welcome me and your daughter in law in our home. I wish you were there to wish me a good when I left the shores of India for the first time. I wish you were there to console me on phone about not to worry about mom when I’m away from her. I wish you were there to feel proud on your son’s minor achievements like buying new house of his own. I wish you were there to shower your blessing on your grand children. Today they are missing the pampering they should receive from their grand parents. I wish you were there to strengthen my determination for new ventures by saying "Don’t worry, go ahead. I am with you." In many troubled times, I have wished that you were there to guide me through but it was not meant to be.
During your last days, you were in lot of trouble. I was not able to see you in so much of pain. But I had to see that horrible time. Still I consider that time as most horrible time of my life. I was keep asking god one question why gentle soul like you have to go through all this? Before you breathed last I was forced to go away from your bed but I was grown up enough to realize what’s coming my way. I was praying hard but god was not in a mood to listen me. The first time in my life, I went to crematorium. At that time, I was feeling like I’m all alone in the world even amongst the crowd of relatives. I was feeling like please leave me alone, I want to cry. I wanted to cry a lot but couldn’t. Destiny had decided to teach me the lessons of life in hard way. Life is no more cake walk since then.

Dad, Today I have reached to a certain level in my life but no matter how far I go in life, one thing I will always miss that you are not around me to celebrate my success. Life is like that😦. Finally, I would say DAD, RIP n please keep blessing us.

2 Responses

  1. krunal, ur post touched me greatly.. It luks like u have a lot of pent-up emotions abt ur Dad. Deeply sorry for your loss. Ur mention of ur childhood days had me smiling🙂
    You are good with English posts too. Please write more in Enlgish too so that the Gujarati-ignorant us can read😉

  2. Hi..KC
    I read few of your blogs. This really touch my heart.
    Good one.
    Regards,
    Gaurang Shah

Leave a Reply

