And we did it…..

Hmm… This post has been long due from me. I’m late by almost 2 weeks in adding a data in my memory bank about the time I spent in the company of few wonderful people which shared the common passion i.e. “BLOGGING”. Anyways, it’s better late than never and following answers all how, when, why, who, etc. about it :

One fine day, I got a mail in my mailbox stating that IndiBlogger is inviting me to the meeting of Singapore based Indian bloggers. Initially, I was in double mind about what to do. Go for it or skip it considering my tight routine during those days. Since long I have been looking forward to the opportunity of meeting other bloggers, connect and communicate with them, get some tips from them and socializing with them. I thought such an event would be a perfect opportunity to meet my objectives. Hence, I accepted the invitation and then excitement started. First fear was are we going to make a sizeable crowd to make the show going? But fortunately response was quite good. In a matter of few days some 10 people agreed to attend this do. The organizer of event was Maria Francis. She took the initiative to put the request to Indiblogger for calling on a meeting in Singapore. She was also apprehensive about her venture but good thing was she took the first step. Indiblogger also deserves a word of thanks for responding to Maria’s request in positive manner. Before the meeting, registered members exchanged few messages about venue for the event, to do things, etc. Understandably Maria was double confirming with attendees about their availability. Finally, the day arrived. I reached to the meeting venue around 10 minutes late. I was cursing myself on why I can’t respect the time given to others n was apprehensive that I may be the last person to be there. But to my surprise only four people were there before me. Chriz, Shushant, Divya n of course who else than the organizer herself Mdm Maria. I was bit relieved that I was the 5th to arrive and not the last. We started formal conversation while waiting for others to join us. One by one all registered bloggers made it except Nags. (Hope she can make it to next meet.) I was happy that I did my bit in creating a sort of history by participating in Indiblogger‘s first ever blogger’s meet outside India. (This first ever meet outside India fact has been verified by Indiblogger also. check #IndiSing) Mouth watering veg n non-veg kebabs were also their to keep our taste buds happy and keep us going.  During the time we spent together, I was observing the people present there and below I write my first impression about all the bloggers to whom I met :

Maria

Maria : Maria pursues the dream of becoming an author and she is serious about it. I find her Very curious to know about how to get more traffic on blog (kind of universal question :)) so that it can help her in getting more readers for what she writes. I found that She is able to take initiatives and has conviction to do the things.

DivyaDivya : Initially, I found her timid and in shadow of her best friend Maria. But as time passed, she opened up n become more vocal. As a newbie to blogging she didn’t sound too confident that day. (But now after reading her posts on the blog I think she undermines her writing skills.)

Shushant Shushant : very few times I meet up with people from non IT or non finance background here in Singapore and he was just one of them. I found him quite knowledgeable and whatever he talked on that day made sense to me. Good thing is he enjoys his bachelorhood in a best possible way in Singapore.

ChrizChriz : One word I could think of about him after meeting him was Mr. versatile. He is stand up comedian, can sing, can play guitar, can churn out wonderful posts, is in world of media n Advertising. What else does he needs to do in order to prove himself Mr. Versatile?

Jamshed Jamshed : He is owner of pleasing & dominating personality. He is kind of pro in blogging and possesses good communication skill. First time I realized that one can have visiting cards just to promote his/her blog. I guess, that’s what the professionalism is all about.

Honey TheDailyHoney : Big sorry to you first. Somehow we couldn’t interact during our meet. But I think you were kinda queen of bollywood amongst us who eats bollywood, sleeps bollywood, drinks bollywood and breathes bollywood. May be in next meet we can interact with each other more n you can transfer some passion in me for bollywood from you.🙂

kay Krithika : the most shy human being amongst all of us. She even defeated Divya by huge margin in timidness. At the time, I was in double mind should I talk to her or not? But yeah she was nice person.

Abhijeet Abhijeet : the most excited and youthful guy amongst us. Came fully prepared with his Macbook, camera n all set to connect remotely to his PC to show some of his creation. Awesome. I liked his energy level. (Thanks to him for covering the meet in photos. )

Avinash Avinash: I think the first curious question from him was how one can make money by writing blogs? Just to the point, right? Hope he might have got his answer from the that day. Not able to interact much with him so too difficult to write anything about his personal traits. Sorry man!!

 
Anirudh Anirudh : I found him carefree. He introduced himself as "Just another IT Guy" was apt I think. But like most other IT guys he also hates the thing he does to earn his bread n butter. His smiley face was chho sweet n adorable I think.

So guys and gals, above is the impression which I carried about you from our first meeting. My impression / perception about you may be right or wrong but one thing I can say about you for sure is you all are wonderful people and our passion for blogging connects us all. (Please no offences meant here for anyone)

So finally after chit chatting for about 1.5-2 hrs on blogging and other things we bid adieu to each other. But before we part, we decided to have home work for all of us and that was describing this meet in one post on our blogs. Hence, I’m writing this post. (However, I turned out to be very poor student and took so long to finish my homework.)

During the meeting, we agreed to connect with each other on Facebook and Twitter. I think that task is almost done now. (Thank you all for your prompt action and now some of us regularly in touch through these medium.) We also decided to meet regularly and take the things further. So soon next meeting will take place and this time attempt shall be made to get in few new members on board as well. So I’m done with this post and I end it with following group photograph taken at meeting.

meet

I don’t know the fate of our group or initiative we have taken but one thing is sure that I will cherish forever the very little time we spent together. Before ending I can’t stop murmuring this song sung by KK "हम रहे या ना रहे कल, कल याद आयेंगे ये पल…"

 

à bientôt!!

22 Responses

  1. “enjoys his bachelorhood in a best possible way in Singapore” isn’t that what bachelorhood is all abt?😀

    Nice comments on everyone. Was expecting a post in Gujarathi though.

    • Shushant,
      If I had put that post in Gujarati, no one would have been able to read it in our group. So no meaning.

  2. wowie.. that was a nice way of putting it.. felt so glad.. you made everyone feel so special with that write up.. kudos..

    • Chriz,

      Thanks man.

      Nothing modest about what I wrote.  You hv also done fab job.

  3. Firstly, I love d Gabbar Style “Kitne Aadmi hai’ on the side bar😀 Loved post. u have summed up everybody aptly. and LOL at Sushant’s “bachelorhood part” ..hehehe

    • Maria, I was under pressure to finish this homework ASAP as most people were done with their post. The idea of designing the post like the way I did, came up yesterday night only when I was writing the post. Truly speaking, When I finished, I also liked the way I designed the post. Contentwise how good it is, I can’t say. That’s up to you guys to tell.

      Thanks for your appreciation.

  4. “Krithika even defeated Divya by huge margin in timidness.”
    y was that comparison??😦
    and i dint get by what u meant by “i undermine my writing skills”
    otherwise, the blog was fantastic.. a clear cut pic of everyone…🙂

    • Divya n Krithika, nothing personal about what I wrote. It was just an attempt to extract some humour out of it.

      Divya, In the first meeting you sound bit apprehensive about your writing skill to me as a new bie on the block. But Yesterday I read all posts on your blog (unfortunately my comments couldn’t reach to you thanks to bloody iPhone) n I think you write quite good. So that’s all. Don’t underestimate urself. Again my perosnal views.

      Thanks for liking the post and commenting.

  5. okies… got ur points… thanks for the feedback!
    thanks for finding time to read my blogs, but i didnt get ur comments which is sad.
    can u comment again pls..🙂

  6. Nicely done dhost just as expected … Love the look to it as well … jw

    • Thanks Jamshed.

  7. First of all please accept my congratulations to who initiated the idea and all those who participated in the meeting. Krunal, your write-up is excellent and honest.

    • Thanks Jagadishbhai.

  8. Better late than never I always say. And a nice one at that. Liked your one-liners about every attendee. But I really loved the one about me😉
    Looking forward to the next meet.

    • Thanks, Abhijeet.

  9. મિત્ર કૃણાલ, ખૂબ જ મજાનો અનુભવ વહેંચવા બદલ અભિનંદન અને આભાર. કૉમેન્ટસ પણ આનંદ આપનારી છે!

    Sushantની વાત બરાબર છે. આ અનુભવની વાત ગુજરાતીમાં બીજી રીતે પણ મૂકજો.
    Thinking Cap.. okies… got ur points… thanks for the feedback!
    thanks for finding time to read my blogs, but i didnt get ur comments which is sad.
    can u comment again pls.. આ રીત પણ ગમી!!
    મજા આવી.

    • યશવંતભાઇ, આ જ પ્રકારના પોસ્ટનું ફરીથી ગુજરાતીમાં અલગ રીતે રજૂઆત કરવી અઘરી છે કારણ કે સમસ્યા સમયની છે. અંગ્રેજીમાં પણ લખવા માટે બે અઠવાડિયા પછી સમય મળ્યો. ફરી વખત કંઇ નવું ગુજરાતી ભાષામાં લખવાનો પ્રયત્ન કરીશ.

  10. Blog or no blog but its always heartening to meet nice people in life…enjoye your piece of it

    • Narendrabhai,
      I agree.

  11. Nice post Krunal… i saw your update and pic on twitter so knew about it, but this was nice to read about all the fellow bloggers you met !🙂

    • Lopa, Hopefully next time we will be able to make in better n bigger. Amen!!

  12. […] And-we-did-it […]

Leave a Reply

