Shameful Flight

Yesterday Finally, I laid my hand on some book after a long gap. Yesterday I went to library here. I had one specific book in my mind which was suggested by someone. The book which I wanted to borrow was “From third world to first, Singapore Story” written by Lee Kuan Yew. Lee Kuan Yew is a father figure of Singapore and he is given a credit to transform the Singapore from the third world nation after it’s birth in 1965 to first world nation of today. From whatever little I know about the history of Singapore since it’s birth, I think this fellow LKY has done good job for Singapore and have high regards for this man. But at the same time, I’m a big time criticiser of his recent policies. LKY / MM Lee (that is how he is known here) still have a great clout in Singapore and currently his son is ruling the Singapore. I was interested in reading how this fellow managed this development journey of Singapore but but but unfortunately I couldn’t lay my hands on this book. To my disgust though book was not out on loan was also not there on book shelf. Despite of my attempts to find out and taking the help from library staff, I couldn’t find the book.

As I couldn’t find that book but was determined to read something I tried to search for some other book. First time in the library, I explored the book section where India related books were kept. Though the collection was not huge still it was interesting. There were many books on gandhi, few books on history on tourism and culture. I also found one book titled as “Culture shock” describing the dos n don’t in the Indian culture and describing what outsiders must know about India before visiting India, in order to avoid culture shock. I think amazing concept to write book on🙂.  I took one book titled as “Shameful Flight” which is on the horror of the partition after Indian got independence. I’m avid history lover but feel ashamed to admit that till date I haven’t read any authenticate book on Indian partition which I feel I must have done so far. So by taking “Shameful Flight”, I am attempting to revisit partition era and will be trying to know what mistakes/good things likes of Gandhi / Sardar / Nehru etc. did. Some day I also want to read book on Mohammed Ali Jeenah. I think Jaswant singh’s latest book written on him is available in Singapore National library. So some day I will borrow it to read it.

Now I have managed to get the book but the problem is to get the time to do the justice with the book. Most likely I will have to read this while travelling for the office ( so will hv to stop surfing on iPhone) otherwise currently I don’t have a luxury to have spare time to read books. And yeah, yesterday I also got latest issue of magazine “India Se”. Perhaps more than enough reading material to my disposal.🙂

3 Responses

  1. Good to know that there are people interested in the rich culture of my country, and working hard to bring it on the world view. Cheers for your wonderful blog. Even I’m a published poet. You can catch glimpse of some of my works here- http://souravroy.com/poems/

    • Thanks Sourav for visiting n commenting.

  2. It is an honor

Leave a Reply

