Walk down the memory lane

I’m a person who likes to revisit the history. Back in India, I have been to many places of historical interests but still India has lot to offer when history is concerned and I’m yet to see many more places. Ajanta-Ellora caves still is fav place for me to visit and I’m in awe of the work on display there. I still rue that I’m not able to visit that place quite often. Last time during my trip to India I had a trip to all tourist destinations in Maharashtra and Ajanata was one of them. But thanks to that ******* tour operator (who took us to Ajanta on a day when it remains close), I missed out the opportunity to enjoy the amazing work once again. But my head hangs in shame to admit that I am yet to visit the epic monument of Taj Mahal yet. Somehow couldn’t manage to visit Taj so far. Now I’m out of India so it’s getting difficult for me to quench my thirst for exploring Indian history.

In Singapore also I try to keep discovering about the history of Singapore and Malay peninsula. (But (my personal opinion is )Singapore is not that rich as far as history and culture is concerned. Still I keep exploring and today I got one such chance to explore about the Singapore of yester years. Today news paper in Singapore had asked it’s readers to submit the snaps they have of yester year’s Singapore with them. After getting the snaps from people they put up the photo exhibition “My Life: Then & Now” @Orchard Central. Today I visited that place to view the photo exhibition. From the snaps, it was apparent that Singapore was not so rich, well organised, prosperous and developed when It got freedom. In the photos, I saw flooded streets with people in neck deep water, not so clean streets, undeveloped Singapore river belt, dressing of the people then, etc. When Singapore got freedom providing housing to the people was the biggest problem. In the snaps I could see people living in wooden houses and sharing a single tap of water to meet their needs. The streets were not so organised as it looks today. Singapore river belt was barren then with no concrete structures around. Seeing all snaps, I realised that Singapore was in pathetic state when it got independence. But just after 44 years of freedom, today Singapore is developed nation. I can safely say that people who had taken an initiative to lead the Singapore after independence have taken Singapore to the right direction. The key figure who made the poor, hungry and dirty Singapore of 44 years back to prosperous and developed nation of today is Lee kuan Yew. He indeed deserves the pet on his back to transform a nation in less than a one generation time.

I regret India had likes of Gandhi n Nehru at the helm at the time of our independence rather than having any visionary ruler like MM Lee (as Lee kuan Yew is known here. Ministor Mentor Lee). MM Lee was the first prime minster of Singapore and he served the Singapore as prime minster from 1959 – 1990. Currently his son, Lee Hsian Loong is serving the nation as prime minster since 2004. Just for reader’s information since independence Singapore has been ruled by only three prime minsters. First MM Lee, Second Goh Chock tong and third n current PM Lee hsian loong.

Leave a Reply

